Skip to content

A Reason to Scuba Dive

September 15, 2011

I’ve never been terribly interested in going scuba diving. My disinterest is likely related to my not so great experiences snorkeling. I remember snorkeling as a child and enjoying it, but a couple of years ago, I went while in Hawaii, and it was not terribly fun for me. While snorkeling, you have to float, swim around, keep your snorkel above water, and avoid running into things like coral. This proved to be too much for me, especially because I kept having trouble with breathing with the snorkel. I was later convinced to wear a life jacket while snorkeling, which made it more enjoyable, but still not great (and had the added bonus of making me feel silly). So as a result of not enjoying snorkeling and being somewhat freaked out by a lot of things in the ocean, scuba diving was not on my to-do list.

This changed, when I learned about the Grüner See in Austria. The lake is located in the Hochschwab mountains and is filled by snowmelt from the mountains. During the fall and winter the water is low, but in the spring the water rises resulting in an underwater meadow. Divers are able to see a variety of different plant-life as well as paths, a bridge, and benches underwater. I recommend you view the YouTube video below (there are a lot of other ones to check out as well) to get an idea of the lake.

Scuba diving is the best way to experience this lake, so as a result I’ve decided that scuba diving in it will go on my list of things I want to do in my life. And who knows, maybe I’ll enjoy it so much, I’ll decide I want to do more scuba diving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

