Skip to content

Why I’m Doing This

September 14, 2011

I did some blogging during my Fulbright year. The main purpose of that blog was to give updates to my family and friends of what I was up to in Germany.

My reasons for starting this blog are a bit different and broader. My reasons and goals for this blog are:

  • Practice writing. Since college, most of my writing has been in the form of emails, Facebook updates, personal letters, and business documents. I’ve done very little creative writing and very little formatted writing of more than a few paragraphs. I’m hoping through writing this, I’ll be able to reactivate some of my writing skills. This will improve my writing for resumes, cover letters, essays (when I decide to apply to grad school), and general writing.
  • Unpack my mind. I’m currently struggling with my need to nest as I don’t have a room or apartment of my own where I can unpack my things and express myself.   Instead of unpacking physical things, I’ll be unpacking the things going through my mind. Through this I hope better understand my own feelings, passions, and thoughts.
  • Enhance my online profile. I am in the midst of job and apartment hunting. As a part of this, I suspect people are regularly googling me to find out what I’m all about. This blog gives me the opportunity to share a bit about myself in a way that I am comfortable with and I control.
  • Inspire creativity. Since starting to work professionally 4 years ago, I don’t feel I’m as creative as I used to be. Through this I hope to explore, develop, and share more of my own skills and abilities. his
  • Give myself a project. Although I have things I’m spending time on, I felt I needed something more substantial and personal. This will be a new and different challenge for me. It forces me out of my comfort zone, as writing and sharing are nothings I generally consider to be strengths of mine.
  • Document this time in my life. I’ve never been one to write in journals or keep a diary for more than a week or two (no guarantees this will last more than a week), but I enjoy going back and reading the entries from when I did. Every few months, I re-read my blog entries from Germany and am thankful I have some of the memories documented. I’m hoping I will feel similarly about this blog.

This will likely be a collection of writings of experiences I’ve had or want to have, sharing of things I’ve found interesting, and expression of my thoughts and feelings on certain topics. I don’t know that what I write will be of too much interest to many people, but I am doing this in large part for myself. I do hope that people find what is on here interesting, but if they don’t, I won’t mind. I suspect it will mostly be read by me and some of my close friends and family members, which is entirely fine by me.

For those who do read it, thank you. Feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think or give me suggestions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 26, 2011 8:00 am

    Thanks, Kath. I think your writing and sharing are very good and I am glad that you share that with us. I admire your insight and creativity – and love you lots.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

